Kindle, A New Way To Read

Saturday, June 28, 2008

Margaret Atwood wins Spanish literary award

The jury praised the 68-year-old writer for work that covers several genres "with sharpness and irony."

It says in a statement Wednesday that Atwood "defends the dignity of women and denounces situations of social injustice."

Atwood has published more than 25 volumes of poetry, fiction and nonfiction and won prestigious awards including Britain's Booker Prize in 2000 for "The Blind Assassin."

She is also known for "The Edible Woman" published in 1970, and "The Handmaid's Tale" in 1983.

Eight Prince of Asturias prizes are awarded each year in categories such as arts, scientific research, sports, letters and humanities. The prizes are named for Crown Prince Felipe.

Associated Press
June 28, 08 10:04pm